ISNRVmasjidpics-5_edited.png

About Masjid Al-Ihsan

The Islamic Society of New River Valley is a non-profit 501(c) (3) corporation formed exclusively for religious, educational, and charitable purposes and headquartered in Blacksburg, Virginia. It serves the needs of the Muslim community in the New River Valley area as well as those of the larger community.

The ISNRV owns and operates a mosque, Masjid Al-Ihsan, and a Muslim cemetery. Masjid Al-Ihsan holds daily prayers, Jumu'a prayers, Eid prayers, Taraweeh prayers, and regular religious classes. In addition, it is host to the Sunday Islamic School that provides Quran, Islamic, and Arabic classes for young Muslims ages 6-16. The mosque is considered a community center for all activities that bring together the Muslim community: potluck dinners, weddings ceremonies, social gatherings, Ramadan Iftars, graduation parties, and many more.

The ISNRV is governed by a 7-member democratically elected Shura Council comprising men and women. The day-to-day operation of the Masjid and all its related activities are managed by an Executive Board and several Committee Chairs.

Moreover, the ISNRV collaborates closely with the Muslim Student Association (MSA) at Virginia Tech in organizing events and activities targeted at providing a welcoming and a spiritually-enriching environment for Muslim student community in Blacksburg.

How to Join 

Important Note: Masjid Al-Ihsan is a place of worship and is open to all Muslims and all persons who want to learn about Islam. No membership is needed for the use of the Masjid facilities for these purposes. ISNRV active membership is strictly for organizational purposes to participate in the elections, run for a Trustee or Shura member position, or hold an executive office.

To become an ISNRV member, please download the Membership Form, fill it out completely, and include your dues payment. If you choose to pay using PayPal*, please submit a copy of the receipt with your application. Your application and payment can be dropped in the ISNRV Membership box underneath the donation box in Masjid Al-Ihsan.

 

Alternatively, you can mail your

application to our address:

Islamic Society of New River Valley

1284 N Main St

Blacksburg, VA 24060

(540) 961-5210

* To pay online, please go to DONATE page and follow the instructions.

 

GOVERNANCE

The latest ISNRV elections were held on Sunday November 11, 2018.

Trustees: 2018-2023

image.jpg

Dr. Hesham Rakha

Unknown.jpeg

Dr. Saher Lahouar

image-1.jpg

Dr. Slimane Adjerid

image-2.jpg

Dr. Saad Ragab

Executive Board

President

Br. Idris Adjerid

president@isnrv.org

 

Maintenance and Membership Committees Head

Dr. Saher Lahouar

maintenance@isnrv.org

Islamic School Principal & Vice Principal

Sr. Eman Hussein & Br. Can Dogan

wisc@isnrv.org

 

Friday Khutba Coordinator

Br. Mohammed Elarnaouti

Khutba@isnrv.org

Vice President

Br. Nasif Majeed

vp@isnrv.org

 

Media and Listserv

Br. Abdulrahman Alhaider

info@isnrv.org

 

Webmaster

Br. Abdalsalam

webmaster@isnrv.org

Outreach and Public Relations Representative

Dr. Hesham Rakha

public@isnrv.org

Funeral Coordinator

Br. Idris Adjerid

funeral@isnrv.org

 

Library Assistant

Br. Abdul

library@isnrv.org

Treasurer

Sr. Afek Jaballah

treasurer@isnrv.org

Students Activities Coordinator

Br. Mohamed Yusuf

youth@isnrv.org

 

Arabic Class Coordinator

Sr. Maha Elouni

arabic@isnrv.org